Asleep in the light?

Psalm 63 regularly offers a wake up call to my soul, spirit and flesh, there is an urgency and passion about needing to meet with God, verse 1 (ESV):

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you!
I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.
So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;

As I read Psalm 63 this morning I thought of a line from a Keith Green song, “You can’t even get out of bed”. I progressed to Luke 4 and saw that the anointing of God has a purpose as well as a presence and power, he has anointed me to

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
because he has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives
and recovering of sight to the blind,
to set at liberty those who are oppressed,
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Seek God, hunger and thirst for him – then go and do, you are anointed to the call and works of God.

Incidentally I thought you might not have heard the song, or maybe even heard of Keith Green, so here it is. (Try to ignore the terrible graphics).

Leave a Reply

