Holy Leviticus!

I have been reading Leviticus over the last couple of weeks – initially not easy, well not easy at any time for me – so I sat thinking and meditating on some of the text I read today and thought, “Leviticus means God takes holiness seriously”.

I went on to read Mark 7:6,7 where Jesus is speaking,

“‘This people honors me with their lips,
but their heart is far from me;
in vain do they worship me,
teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’

…and then Jesus in Mark 7:15,

“There is nothing outside a person that by going into him can defile him, but the things that come out of a person are what defile him.”

An old friend of mine once said in his early years in church he learned of holiness that the main colour is black and the word is “no”. Such is the holiness of the world, God is looking at our heart, and he takes holiness very seriously.

Hebrews 12:14,

Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.

Leave a Reply

