Oswald Chambers on Vision

I have never read anyone as powerful on the subject of vision as Oswald Chambers. Read this and let your heart be stirred heavenwards and get a vision from God.

It is easier to serve God without a vision, easier to work for God without a call, because then you are not bothered by what God requires;  common sense is your guide, veneered over with Christian sentiment.  You will be more successful, more leisure-hearted, if you never realise the call of God.  But if once you receive a commission in Jesus Christ, the memory of what God wants will always come like a goad; you will no longer be able to work for Him on the common sense basis.

What do I really count dear?  If I have not been gripped by  Jesus Christ, I will count service dear, time given to God dear, my life dear unto myself.  Paul says he counted his life dear only in order that he might fulfil the ministry he had received; he refused to use his energy for any other thing.  Acts 20:24 states Paul’s almost sublime annoyance at being asked to consider himself; he was absolutely indifferent to any consideration other than that of fulfilling the ministry he had received.  Practical work may be a competitor against abandonment to God, because practical work is based on this argument – “remember how useful you are here,” or – “think how much value you would be in that particular type of work.”  That attitude does not put Jesus Christ as the guide as to where we should go, but our judgement as to where we are of most use.   Never consider whether you are of use; but always consider that you are not your own but His.”


“When God gives a vision by His Spirit – of what He wants, and your mind and soul thrill to it, if you do not walk in the light of the vision, you will sink into servitude to a point of view our Lord never had – you can never be the same after the unveiling of a truth.  That moment marks you for going on as a more true disciple of Jesus Christ, or for going back as a deserter.”

One response to “Oswald Chambers on Vision

  1. Practical work may be a competitor against abandonment to God, because practical work is based on this argument – “remember how useful you are here,” or – “think how much value you would be in that particular type of work.” That attitude does not put Jesus Christ as the guide as to where we should go, but our judgement as to where we are of most use. Never consider whether you are of use; but always consider that you are not your own but His.”

    WOW… the above statement changes my whole perspective on the Vision… I always believed in being Available and Willing, and that gave me a promotion last week from being a Secretary to a Regional Pastor, to being the HR/ADMIN Coordinator in the Church Official Operations. But am I just being “useful” and “practical”?

    I am serving God in this office. or at least that is how I see it. There was a Holy Discontent and God brought it to my attention, and He taught me and is continuing to teach me to serve in the capacity that I am placed in to bring about the change, beginning from me… So, this cannot be just me, because I am NOT QUALIFIED for this position, this HAS TO BE GOD!!

    Can I say “time will tell”? How can I reconfirm my stance in the Lord? please help…

Leave a Reply

