Passivity of Life

beach1.jpg

Acts 13:22 is a very well known verse,

‘I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart…’

We love the idea that David was just pure in heart wanting God’s heart.

Psalm 91 is again a very well known passage, “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

Great words of comfort and encouragement.

Today both passage coincided in my daily Bible reading and my attention went to the activity of the man or woman of God. It is easy to have a passivity in our hearts when reading these two famous passages – sort of like lying back in a hammock on a sun kissed sandy beach and just taking it all in.

hammock.jpg

Yet in both these passages there is serious activity from the believer. David was a man after Gods own heart, ‘…who will do all my will.’ Ps 91:14, 15, “”Because he holds fast to me in love…because he knows my name…he calls to me…”

Don’t be fooled into being passive, going after God’s heart requires serious energy, active devotion and aggressive mortification of the flesh.

Leave a Reply

